Faculty Participants

Michael Barresi Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences 413-585-3697 | mbarresi at smith dot edu Embryonic Neural System Development (Collaborating with Nessy Tania) Maren Buck Assistant Professor of Chemistry 413-585-7599 | mbuck@smith dot edu A predictive model for the rate of disassembly of micelles in drug delivery (with Ileana Streinu) Nathan Derr Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences 413-585-3966 | nderr at smith dot edu Biophysical and cell biological mechanisms of the cytoskeletal molecular motors dynein and kinesin (with Ileana Streinu) Rob Dorit Professor, Biological SciencesDorit 413-585-3638 | rdorit at smith dot edu Modeling the dynamics of infectious disease epidemics (with Dylan Shepardson) Janice Gifford Professor of Statistics 413-538-2236 | jgifford at mtholyoke dot edu Invasion, Disturbance and Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Ji Young Kim, Matt Noonan, and Amy Wagaman) Propagule Pressure, Disturbance, and Invasion Dynamics(Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Ji Young Kim, Matt Noonan, and Amy Wagaman) Spatial Parasitoid Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes and Ji Young Kim) Christophe Golé Professor, Mathematics & Statistics 413-585-3875 | cgole at smith.edu Geometry of an Ecological Arms Race (Collaborating with L. David Smith) Spirals in Nature: Phyllotaxis (Collaborating with Denise Lello) harringtonMary Harrington Professor in Life Sciences 413-585-3925 | mharring at smith dot edu Oscillations of Biological Clock Gene Expression (Collaborating with Tanya Leise) Sarah Hewshews-sarah Assistant Professor of Mathematics 413-559-5414 | shns at hampshire dot edu Host-Virus Dynamics of Infectious Diseases Martha Hoopesmhoopes Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences 413-538-2210 | mhoopes at mtholyoke dot edu Invasion, Disturbance, and Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Janice Gifford, Ji Young Kim, and Amy Wagaman) Propagule Pressure, Disturbance and Invasion Dynamics (Collaborating with Janice Gifford, Ji Young Kim, and Amy Wagaman) Spatial Parasitoid Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Janice Gifford and Ji Young Kim)
Nicholas Horton Professor, Statistics 413-542-5655 | nhorton at amherst dot edu Bioacoustics and the architecture of human hearing (Collaborating with Susan Voss) Sheila S. Jaswal Assistant Professor of Chemistry 413-542-5153 | sjaswal at amherst dot edu Kinetics of Protein Folding and Unfolding (Collaborating with Amy Wagaman) Modeling Mass Spectral Profiles for Protein Hydrogen Exchange (Collaborating with Amy Wagaman) The Geometry Behind Protein Stability (Collaborating with Audrey Lee-St. John) Ji Young Kim Assistant Professor Mathematics and Statistics 413-538-2401 | jiykim at mtholyoke dot edu Invasion, Disturbance and Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Janice Gi fford, and Amy Wagaman) Propagule Pressure, Disturbance, and Invasion Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Janice Gifford, and Amy Wagaman) Spatial Parasitoid Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes and Janice Gifford) Micro-Array Statistical Analysis (Collaborating with Craig Woodard) Audrey Lee-St. John Associate Professor of Computer Sciences 413.695.5720 | astjohn at mtholyoke dot edu Motion/sampling conformations of molecule-like structures (with Kathryn McMenimen) Tanya Leise Assistant Professor Mathematics413-542-5411 | tleise at amherst dot edu Oscillations of Biological Clock Gene Expression (Collaborating with Mary Harrington) Denise Lello Research Associate Biological Sciences 413-585-3594 | dlello at smith dot edu Spirals in Nature: Phyllotaxis (Collaborating with Christophe Gole, Mathematics) Lisa Mangiamele Assistant Professor of Biological Science and Neuroscience 413-585-3879 | lmangiamele at smith dot edu Integration of sensory systems communication signals to guide adaptive behaviors, such as mating behaviors, and how those sensory processes are modified by hormones. Kathryn McMenimen Claire Boothe Luce Assistant Professor of Chemistry 413-538-3375 | kamcmeni at mtholyoke dot edu Modeling protein-protein interactions involved in maintaining functional folding (with Audrey Lee-St. John) Ethan Meyers Assistant Professor of Statistics 413-559-5500 | embers at hampshire dot edu Sarah Moore Assistant Professor of Engineering 413-585-7005 | sjmoore at smith dot edu Engineering Proteins for Applications in Medicine Charles Ross Assistant Professor of Evolutionary Biology 413.559.5576 |cross at hampshire dot edu Spatial Analysis of Biological Variation Sara Sheehan Assistant Professor of Computer Science 413.585.3858 | ssheehan [at] smith dot edu Applications of machine learning to inferring population demographic parameter estimates Dylan Shepardson Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Statistics (413) 538-2683  | dshepard at mountholyoke dot edu Intervention Strategies for Tuberculosis Control Modeling the dynamics of infectious disease epidemics (with Rob Dorit) Professor, Biological Sciences L. David Smith 413-585-3828 | ldsmith at smith.edu Geometry of an Ecological Arms Race (Collaborating with Christophe Gole) Lee Spector Professor Computer Science 413-559-5352 | lspector at hampshire dot edu Evolutionary Computation Applications to Biomathematics Gwen Spencer Assistant Professor of Mathematics 413-585-3830 | gspencer at smith dot edu Ileana Streinu Charles N. Clark Professor, Computer Science 413-585-3827 | streinu at cs.smith.eduGeometry of Proteins: Structure, Flexibility and Motion (Collaborating with Cristina Suarez)
Cristina Suarez Associate Professor, Chemistry 413-585-3838 | csuarez at email dot smith dot edu Geometry of Proteins: Structure, Flexibility and Motion (Collaborating with Ileana Streinu) Nessy Tania Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Statistics (413)585-3590 | ntania (at) smith (dot) edu Cell motility in cancer cells Modeling the generation of abnormal cardiac rhythms Modeling hair-cell mechanisms for sensory encoding (with Josef Trapani) Josef Trapani Assistant Professor, Biology, Neuroscience 413-542-5523 | jtrapani at amherst dot edu Modeling hair-cell mechanisms for sensory encoding in Zebrafish Susan Voss Assistant Professor of Engineering 413-585-7008 | svoss at smith dot edu Structure and Function of the Peripheral Auditory System (Collaborating with Nicholas Horton) Amy Wagaman Assistant Professor, Mathematics 413-542-2423 | awagaman at amherst dot edu Invasion, Disturbance and Community Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Janice Gifford, Ji Young Kim, and Matt Noonan) Kinetics of Protein Folding and Unfolding (Collaborating with Sheila Jaswal) Modeling Mass Spectral Profiles for Protein Hydrogen Exchange (Collaborating with Sheila Jaswal) Propagule Pressure, Disturbance, and Invasion Dynamics (Collaborating with Martha Hoopes, Janice Gifford, Ji Young Kim, and Matt Noonan) Patrick Williamson Professor of Biochemistry-Biophysics, Biology, Neuroscience 413-542-2143 | plwilliamson at amherst dot edu Co-­evolutionary analysis of protein structural interactions Craig T. Woodardcraig_woodard Professor of Biological Sciences 413-538-2724 | cwoodard at mtholyoke dot edu Micro-Array Statistical Analysis (Collaborating with Ji Young Kim)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *